At Memorial Hermann, we believe in striving for nursing excellence. We rigorously measure quality and patient safety in our drive to deliver exceptional patient outcomes.

Memorial Hermann has been recognized as a national and regional leader in quality care. We have taken major steps to create a high-reliability culture that fosters and supports patient safety as a core value. Below are some of the prestigious excellence awards that we have achieved.

Magnet Recognition Program

Magnet Recognized LogoMagnet recognition is the highest possible organizational credential granted by the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC), the largest and most prominent nursing credentialing organization in the United States, and less than 7% of hospitals in the country have achieved Magnet status since the program’s inception in 1994. In order to earn Magnet status, hospitals must excel in several areas, including nursing standards and practices, patient care, and innovations in nursing leadership and management.

Before a hospital is selected for Magnet recognition, ANCC completes a rigorous, extensive evaluation process that includes onsite visits, reviews of written documentation, staff and patient satisfaction surveys and interviews.

Studies have demonstrated that Magnet-recognized hospitals typically provide a higher quality of patient care, including lower mortality rates and better patient satisfaction. Magnet hospitals also experience lower turnover and lower rates of burnout among nursing staff. The recognition is also directly linked to a hospital’s ability to attract and retain qualified, highly educated nursing staff.

While the benefits of Magnet designation are significant, the Journey to Magnet recognition requires a commitment to nursing excellence, as the facility is continually evaluating their strengths, weaknesses, and ongoing performance in relation to the Magnet model; resulting in an environment which inspires nurses to collaborate with their inter-disciplinary partners, to advance health care.

Learn More about Magnet Recognition at Memorial Hermann

Malcolm Baldridge National Quality Award

The Malcolm Baldridge National Quality Award is one of the most prestigious national recognition a U.S. organization can receive for performance excellence. The five performance areas that are awarded are product and processes outcomes, customer outcomes, workforce outcomes, leadership and governance outcomes, as well as financial and market outcomes. The organizations recognized demonstrate sustained improvement in overall performance of service or product delivery.

Since the health care category was introduced in 1999, only 21 health care organizations nationwide have been awarded the Malcolm Baldridge National Quality Award. Memorial Hermann Sugar Land Hospital becomes the first Houston area hospital and the third in Texas to win the prestigious award.

Press Ganey

Memorial Hermann Health System is committed to providing high quality care and creating memorable experiences for our patient and families served.

Today, we partner with Press Ganey, an independent patient experience company to improve the patient experience.

For more than 30 years, Press Ganey has been the industry’s recognized leader in improving the patient experience. Press Ganey works with more than 26,000 health care facilities, including over 60% of all US hospitals, to help reduce patient suffering and improve the quality, safety, and experience of care. Learn more about Press Ganey.

Memorial Hermann was recognized as a 2018 Pinnacle of Excellence® Award winner for maintaining high levels of excellence over multiple years for employee engagement. The Pinnacle of Excellence award honors organizations that have maintained high levels of excellence in patient experience, engagement or clinical quality performance. To be eligible, organizations must receive a 50% or higher response rate in overall participation.

TIRR Memorial Hermann also received the National Database of Nursing Quality Indicators (NDNQI) Award for Nursing Excellence® from Press Ganey, an award that recognizes the top-performing rehabilitation hospital that has achieved excellence in overall performance in nursing quality indicators. Press Ganey’s NDNQI Award for Outstanding Nursing Quality honors hospitals that have made measurable improvements in nursing performance and patient outcomes. The award is given annually to the top performing organization across 17 quality measures in each of seven categories: academic medical center, teaching hospital, community hospital, pediatric hospital, rehabilitation hospital, psychiatric hospital and international. The highest-ranking hospital in each category receives the award.

Texas Award for Performance Excellence

The Quality Texas Foundation has awarded three hospitals the Texas Award for Performance Excellence (TAPE) in recognition of their strong commitment to quality and high performance. Memorial Hermann Sugar Land Hospital received the distinction in 2015, Memorial Hermann Katy Hospital was recognized in 2017 and Memorial Hermann Memorial City Medical Center earned the award in 2018. The Quality Texas Foundation was chartered to recognize the best organizations in Texas. The group uses an extensive evaluation process that includes hundreds of hours of onsite visits to evaluate and score applicants in several criteria.

General Nursing Practice Information

The Texas Board of Nursing web site contains information on many topics of concern or confusion for LVNs, RNs, and those who work with licensed nurses in Texas.

Texas Board of Nursing “Nursing Practice & Advanced Practice

Texas Board of Nursing Standards of Nursing Practice
RULE §217.11 Standards of Nursing Practice

The Texas Board of Nursing is responsible for regulating the practice of nursing within the State of Texas for Vocational Nurses, Registered Nurses, and Registered Nurses with advanced practice authorization. The standards of practice establish a minimum acceptable level of nursing practice in any setting for each level of nursing licensure or advanced practice authorization. Failure to meet these standards may result in action against the nurses’ license even if no actual patient injury resulted.

Texas Licensure

The Texas Board of Nursing regulates the practice of nursing in the state of Texas. Their website has the forms, applications, and the answers to frequently asked questions about licensure.

To contact the Board:
Texas Board of Nursing
333 Guadalupe #3-460
Austin, Texas 78701
Phone: (512) 305-7400
Fax: (512) 305-7401

American Nurses Association Code of Ethics & Scope and Standards of Practice

The American Nurses Association approved the original Code of Ethics for Nurses in 1985. A review of this Code began in 1995 and in July 2001 the Congress of Nursing Practice and Economics of the ANA approved a fully revised Code of Ethics for Nurses with Interpretive Statement. Click to read the Code of Ethics for Nurses with Interpretive Statement.

For Nurses