HOUSTON (May 11, 2022)

Health System’s Nurses Account for More than One-Third of the 2022 List

Salute to Nurses 2022A total of 56 nurses across the Memorial Hermann Health System have been recognized as the best in their profession by the Houston Chronicle. All were named to the newspaper’s 2022 Top 150 “Salute to Nurses” list.

“The dedication and commitment of our Memorial Hermann nurses to improving health for all we serve has never been more apparent,” said Dr. David Callender, President and CEO of Memorial Hermann Health System. “During COVID-19, our nurses – our entire healthcare team - continuously delivered  safe, compassionate and high-quality care. For these reasons and many more, I am so proud of each of our nurses and our entire Memorial Hermann family.”

Each May during National Nurses Week, the Houston Chronicle honors the role nurses play in delivering care to the Houston community with its annual “Salute to Nurses” list. Hundreds of nurses are nominated by the Houston community. Nominees are then selected by a panel of judges. From the official nominees, 15 outstanding nursing professionals are chosen to be honored as Greater Houston's Top 15 Nurses of the Year.

Four nurses from Memorial Hermann were named to the list of Houston’s Top 15 Nurses of the Year: Ariadne Cabral, RN, with Memorial Hermann Memorial City Medical Center; Jennifer Braren, RN, with Memorial Hermann Northeast Hospital; and Arulkuma Gunasekaran, RN, and Angel Mathai, RN, both with Memorial Hermann Southwest Hospital.

“I would like to congratulate all of the Memorial Hermann nurses recognized on this year’s ‘Salute to Nurses’ list and offer my sincerest gratitude for their unwavering commitment to our patients,” said Bryan Sisk, Senior Vice President and Chief Nursing Executive at Memorial Hermann. “I’m truly thankful for their service and proud to serve alongside each and every one of them.”

In addition to the above four nurses already named, also included among this year’s Top 150 “Salute to Nurses” list from Memorial Hermann were:

Memorial Hermann-Texas Medical Center

  • Claudia Cavazos
  • Chris Denman
  • Gabrielle Edquilang
  • Janelle Headley
  • Barbara Lamb
  • Barbara Maffre
  • Caitlin McVey
  • John Melathethil
  • Courtney Mills
  • Elizabeth Mitchell
  • Sini Prakash
  • Rose Richmond
  • Jansi Sethuraj
  • Lauren Standiford

Children’s Memorial Hermann Hospital

  • Patrick Calzada
  • Karen Hirsch
  • Melissa McNeal
  • Ally Murphy
  • Cathleen Riggs
  • Ivy Wilson

Memorial Hermann Greater Heights Hospital

  • Ashley Jones
  • Shelby Lavicky
  • Laney McLeod
  • Andrea Medina
  • Zaida Majumder
  • Kham Thai

Memorial Hermann Katy Hospital

  • Lizbeth Coz
  • Kat McCorkle
  • Bradley Rush

Memorial Hermann Memorial City Medical Center

  • Tammy Averett
  • Dora Barrows
  • Ofelia Canela

Memorial Hermann Orthopedic & Spine Hospital

  • Regina Allen

Memorial Hermann Pearland Hospital

  • Tara Dandridge
  • Casey Fife

Memorial Hermann Southeast Hospital

  • Margaret Stewart

Memorial Hermann Southwest Hospital

  • Agatha Esenwah
  • Leila Feizizad
  • Asefu Girmay
  • Ann Nguyen
  • Angela Iledan

Memorial Hermann Sugar Land Hospital

  • Amanda Dobbs
  • Seleria Fletcher
  • Marisol Robles

Memorial Hermann The Woodlands Medical Center

  • Hannah Fanning

TIRR Memorial Hermann Hospital

  • Kerry Davis
  • Elizabeth Garcia
  • Julie Lowe
  • Arit Nwagboso
  • Lori Malo
  • Gesno Ulysse

Memorial Hermann School-Based Health Centers

  • Debra Garcia