HOUSTON (July 28, 2023)

The Texas Department of State Health Services has designated Memorial Hermann Cypress Hospital as a Primary Stroke Center.

According to the State, a Primary Stroke Center provides advanced technology, infrastructure, staff and training to receive and treat patients of all ages with all types of strokes.

Memorial Hermann Cypress Hospital Earns Primary Stroke Center Designation"This designation is a result of hard work by affiliated physicians and staff at Memorial Hermann Cypress who ensure patients receive exceptional stroke treatment," said Jerry Ashworth, CEO of Memorial Hermann Cypress and Memorial Hermann Katy Hospital.

Memorial Hermann Cypress joins sister hospitals Memorial Hermann Greater Heights Hospital, Memorial Hermann Katy Hospital, Memorial Hermann Northeast Hospital, Memorial Hermann Pearland Hospital, Memorial Hermann Southeast Hospital and Memorial Hermann Sugar Land Hospital as a Primary Stroke Center. The health system’s Comprehensive Stroke Centers include Memorial Hermann-Texas Medical Center, Memorial Hermann Memorial City Medical Center, Memorial Hermann The Woodlands Medical Center, and Memorial Hermann Southwest Hospital.

“Our network of accredited Primary and Comprehensive Stroke Centers work together to provide timely care for patients, reduce the burden of stroke and improve survival outcomes in the greater Houston community,” said Sandi Shaw, Memorial Hermann Neuroscience Service Line Stroke Program Director.

Stroke is the fifth leading cause of death and a leading cause of serious long-term disability among Americans. There are more than 7 million stroke survivors living in the United States.

For more information on stroke care at Memorial Hermann, visit the stroke section of our website.

Photo (left to right): Jerry Ashworth, SVP & CEO MH Cypress & Katy Hospitals, Justin Thompson, Manager Memorial Hermann Cypress, Marci Holub, VP & CNO Memorial Hermann Cypress and Angelica Antaran, Stroke & Chest Pain Coordinator, Memorial Hermann Cypress.